Today's Edition Local Missouri Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Election '23 Contests Classifieds Public notices Newsletters Jobs NT Magazines Special Sections National World

Economic development organization elects board

by Michael Shine | May 14, 2021 at 5:05 a.m. | Updated May 14, 2021 at 10:45 a.m.

The Jefferson City Regional Economic Partnership (JCREP) took a step toward formally beginning work.

The organization elected a board of directors and officers for the board as well as set initial areas of focus during a meeting.

JCREP came out of the Jefferson City Chamber of Commerce when officials decided to put economic development into a different group so chamber staff could focus on supporting businesses.

The board will focus on workforce development, broadband connectivity expansion, business attraction, housing availability and affordable transportation, according to a news release.

The board is comprised of local business leaders as well as city and county officials.

"This is a big step in the process of getting this organization off the ground," said Larry Kolb, of Kolb Properties, who was elected board chairman. "We've been extremely pleased with the commitments we've received to this point from City of Jefferson, Cole County and our private investors, and I'm excited to work with my fellow board members and the professionals we put in charge to help grow our community."

The organization's mission statement focuses on developing sustainable growth in the region for new and existing businesses, advocating for a "pro-business climate" for the creation of new jobs, encouraging investments and forming partnerships.

Along with Kolb, board members include: Kirk Farmer, Farmer Companies, as vice chairman; Andy Stuckenschneider, Industrial Warehouse & Distribution, secretary; Dave Minton, Central Bank, treasurer; Gregg Bexten, Hawthorn Bank; Gaspare Calvaruso, Capital Region Medical Center; Jeff Davidson, Modern Litho Print; Morgan Delong-Costello, Delong's Inc.; Steve Linton, Diamond Pet Food; Jeffrey Patrick, M.D., JCMG; Chip Webb, Ameren; Mayor Carrie Tergin; and Commissioner Jeff Hoelscher.

Diane Gillespie with the Jefferson City Convention and Visitor's Bureau, and Gary Plummer, president of the Jefferson City Area Chamber of Commerce, will be ex-officio members.

Print Headline: Economic development organization elects board


Sponsor Content