Today's Edition Local Missouri Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo HER Magazine Events Classifieds Public notices Newsletters Election '23 Contests Jobs Special Sections National World

FEMA offers temporary lodging reimbursements following tornado, flooding

July 24, 2019 at 10:00 p.m. | Updated July 24, 2019 at 10:06 p.m.
In this May 23, 2019 file photo, tornado damage is seen in Jefferson City, Mo. (AP Photo/Jeff Roberson, File)

Missourians in 20 counties who paid out-of-pocket expenses for temporary lodging following recent natural disasters may be eligible for reimbursement from FEMA.

Residents may be eligible for lodging reimbursement if they:

Registered with FEMA.

Passed identity verification.

Verified the primary residence occupancy within a designated county.

Verified the primary residence is uninhabitable or inaccessible.

Incurred disaster-related temporary lodging expenses between April 29 and July 5.

Did not have insurance that covered lodging.

Did not receive lodging assistance during that same time frame.

Residents approved for lodging reimbursement must provide zero-balance receipts to FEMA to receive their payments, according to a Wednesday news release.

Residents can use FEMA grants for temporary rental assistance, basic home repairs and other needs not covered by insurance.

Residents affected by the April 29 through July 5 storms, tornadoes and flooding have until Sept. 9 to register for disaster assistance, according to the news release.

People can register with FEMA by calling 800-621-3362 between 7 a.m.-10 p.m. any day or by visiting

The FEMA disaster recovery center in Jefferson City is open 8 a.m.-7 p.m. daily at the Cole County/Jefferson City Office of Emergency Management, 1736 Southridge Drive.

The disaster recovery center in Eldon closed Wednesday but is expected to return at a later date, said Corey Williams, U.S. Small Business Administration public information officer.

The SBA business recovery center is open 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Monday through Friday at 917 Leslie Blvd. in Jefferson City.

The SBA offers low-interest loans to businesses, renters, homeowners and nonprofits in places hit by declared disasters. Residents can apply for assistance at the SBA business recovery center, at or by calling 1-800-659-2955.

President Donald Trump's July 9 major disaster declaration made individual assistance available to those impacted by flooding, tornadoes and severe storms since April 29 in Cole, Boone, Miller, Osage, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Pike, Platte, Pulaski and St. Charles counties.

FEMA is considering Missouri's request to added 21 additional counties, including Callaway County, to that federal disaster declaration, according to a Thursday news release from Gov. Mike Parson's office.


Sponsor Content