Jefferson City, MO 60° View Live Radar Fri H 68° L 54° Sat H 76° L 36° Sun H 64° L 51° Weather Sponsored By:

Candidates face filing deadline for state, county

Candidates face filing deadline for state, county

March 27th, 2016 in News

Tuesday at 5 p.m. is the deadline for candidates to file for county, state, legislative and judicial offices for this year's Aug. 2 primary and Nov. 8 general elections.

Winners of the party primaries for each office will face each other in November - but still could face write-in challengers in the general election, even if no candidates filed in other parties' primaries.

As of 5 p.m. Friday, in two Cole County races, five area state House races and two area circuit judge contests, only one candidate had filed in each.

The candidates who had filed through Friday for offices covering all, or parts, of Mid-Missouri included (incumbents are indicated by *):

Cole County

Eastern District Commissioner: Republican - *Jeff Hoelscher.

Western District Commissioner: Republican - *Kris Scheperle, Janet Ousley.

Sheriff: Republican - Gary Hill, John Wheeler, Randy Dampf.

Assessor: Republican - *Christopher "Chris" Estes, Greg Rollins.

Treasurer: Republican - *Eric Peters.

Public Administrator: Democrat - Jeanne Knaebel Schwaller; Republican - Joe Kuensting, Rik Combs.

State and federal offices

U.S. Senate: Democrat - Chief Wana Dubie, Cori Bush, Jason Kander and Robert Mack; Republican - *Roy Blunt, Kristi Nichols and Bernie Mowinski; Libertarian - Jonathan Dine and Herschel Young; and Constitution - Fred Ryman.

Governor: Democrat - Leonard Steinman, Chris Koster and Eric Morrison; Republican - Catherine Hanaway, Eric Greitens, John Brunner and Peter Kinder; and Libertarian - Cisse Spragins.

Lt. Governor: Democrat - Winston Apple, Russ Carnahan and Tommie Pierson Sr.; and Republican - Arnie C. "AC" Dienoff, Bev Randles and Mike Parson.

Secretary of State: Democrat - Bill Clinton Young, Robin Smith and MD Rabbi Alam; Republican - Will Kraus, John "Jay" Ashcroft and Roi Chinn; and Libertarian - Chris Morrill. Democrat Elad Gross withdrew from the race Thursday.

State Treasurer: Democrat - Pat Contreras and Judy Baker; Republican - Eric Schmitt and Dan Brown; and Libertarian - Sean O'Toole.

Attorney General: Democrat - Jake Zimmerman and Teresa Hensley; and Republican - Josh Hawley and Kurt Schaefer.

U.S. Congress

3rd Congressional District (includes Cole, Miller and part of Camden counties): Democrat - Kevin Miller; Republican - *Blaine Luetkemeyer; Libertarian - Dan Hogan; and Constitution - Doanita Simmons.

4th Congressional District (includes Moniteau, Morgan, most of Camden and Cooper counties): Democrat - Gordon Christensen and Jack Truman; Republican - John E. Webb and *Vicky Hartzler; and Libertarian - Mark Bliss.

Missouri Senate

District 19 (includes Boone and Cooper counties): Democrat - Stephen Webber; and Republican - Caleb Rowden.

Missouri House

District 49 (includes southern Callaway County and part of Cole County): Republican - *Travis Fitzwater.

District 50: Republican - *Caleb Jones.

District 58: Democrat - Travis Maupin; Republican - *David Wood, Alex Stafford and Mike Staton.

District 59 (includes parts of Cole and Miller counties): Republican - *Mike Bernskoetter and Randy Dinwiddie.

District 60 (covers most of Jefferson City): Democrat - Kevin Nelson; Republican - *Jason "Jay" Barnes.

District 61: Republican - *Justin Alferman.

District 62: Republican - Bruce Sassman and *Tom Hurst.

District 123 (includes parts of Camden and Laclede counties): Republican - *Diane Franklin.

District 124 (includes parts of Miller and Camden counties): Republican - *Rocky Miller.

Circuit court judges

13th Circuit-Division 2 (includes Boone and Callaway counties): Democrat - Deborah Daniels and Jeff Harris.

20th Circuit-Division 2 (includes Osage, Gasconade and Franklin counties): Democrat - David Hoven; and Republican - *Ike Lamke.

25th Circuit-Division 2 (includes Maries, Phelps, Pulaski and Texas counties): Republican - *John Beger.

26th Circuit-Division 2 (includes Moniteau, Morgan, Miller, Camden and Laclede counties): Republican - *Kenny Hayden.