Mo. House narrowly OKs changes to teacher layoffs

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — The Missouri House has narrowly approved legislation that would prohibit seniority and salary from being considered when laying off teachers.

The bill would require school administrators to make teacher performance the most important factor in teacher layoffs, rather than starting layoffs with teachers who have not earned tenure. Training and certification also could be considered.

House members approved the legislation 83-76, which is just barely more than the minimum votes necessary to approve legislation. The measure now goes to the Senate. Lawmakers have about two weeks to pass bills.

Supporters say the teacher measure would help ensure districts can keep their best teachers. Opponents argue the changes would cause teachers anxiety without improving schools.


Teacher layoffs is HB1526



Mo. House vote to change teacher layoffs decisions

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — The 83-76 roll call by which the Missouri House voted Thursday to approve legislation that would prohibit seniority and salary from being considered when laying off teachers.

Voting “yes” were 77 Republicans and 6 Democrats.

Voting “no” were 28 Republicans, 47 Democrats and 1 Independent.

Not voting were 1 Republican and 3 Democrats.


Sue Allen, Town and Country.

Kurt Bahr, O’Fallon.

Jay Barnes, Jefferson City.

Mike Bernskoetter, Jefferson City.

Ellen Brandom, Sikeston.

Rick Brattin, Harrisonville.

Cloria Brown, St. Louis.

Wanda Brown, Lincoln.

Eric Burlison, Springfield.

Mike Cierpiot, Lee’s Summit.

Kathie Conway, St. Charles.

Steve Cookson, Fairdealing.

Stanley Cox, Sedalia.

Gary Cross, Lee’s Summit.

Paul Curtman, Pacific.

Charlie Davis, Webb City.

David Day, Dixon.

Scott Dieckhaus, Washington.

John Diehl, St. Louis.

Kevin Elmer, Nixa.

Tom Flanigan, Carthage.

Ward Franz, West Plains.

Gary Fuhr, St. Louis.

Doug Funderburk, St. Peters.

Chuck Gatschenberger, Lake St. Louis.

Don Gosen, Chesterfield.

Jeff Grisamore, Lee’s Summit.

Casey Guernsey, Bethany.

Marsha Haefner, St. Louis.

Galen Higdon, St. Joseph.

Dave Hinson, St. Clair.

Lincoln Hough, Springfield.

Jay Houghton, Martinsburg.

Delus Johnson, St. Joseph.

Tim Jones, Eureka.

Caleb Jones, Clarksburg.

Shelley Keeney, Marble Hill.

Glen Klippenstein, Maysville.

Andrew Koenig, Ballwin.

Bart Korman, New Florence.

Mike Lair, Chillicothe.

Bill Lant, Joplin.

Melissa Leach, Springfield.

Mike Leara, St. Louis.

Donna Lichtenegger, Jackson.

Tom Loehner, Koeltztown.

Thomas Long, Battlefield.

Mike McGhee, Odessa.

Cole McNary, Chesterfield.

Myron Neth, Liberty.

Jerry Nolte, Gladstone.

Mark Parkinson, St. Charles.

Craig Redmon, Canton.

Bill Rieboldt, Neosho.

Todd Richardson, Poplar Bluff.

Jeanie Riddle, Mokane.

Lyle Rowland, Cedar Creek.

Don Ruzicka, Mount Vernon.

David Sater, Cassville.

Rodney Schad, Versailles.

Dwight Scharnhorst, High Ridge.

Dave Schatz, Sullivan.

Ron Schieber, Kansas City.

Vicki Schneider, O’Fallon.

Shane Schoeller, Willard.

Lindell Shumake, Hannibal.

Ryan Silvey, Kansas City.

Jason Smith, Salem.

Chrissy Sommer, St. Charles.

Rick Stream, Kirkwood.

Mike Thomson, Maryville.

Noel Torpey, Independence.

Wayne Wallingford, Cape Girardeau.

Bill White, Joplin.

Zachary Wyatt, Green Castle.

Anne Zerr, St. Charles.

Steven Tilley, Perryville.


Michael Brown, Kansas City.

Chris Carter, St. Louis.

Penny Hubbard, St. Louis.

Jamilah Nasheed, St. Louis.

Mike Talboy, Kansas City.

Steve Webb, Florissant.


Randy Asbury, Higbee.

T.J. Berry, Kearney.

John Cauthorn, Mexico.

Sandy Crawford, Buffalo.

Charlie Denison, Springfield.

Tony Dugger, Hartville.

Sue Entlicher, Bolivar.

Barney Fisher, Richards.

Paul Fitzwater, Potosi.

Lyndall Fraker, Marshfield.

Diane Franklin, Camdenton.

Keith Frederick, Rolla.

Kent Hampton, Malden.

Denny Hoskins, Warrensburg.

Mike Kelley, Lamar.

Scott Largent, Clinton.

Brent Lasater, Independence.

Nick Marshall, Parkville.

John McCaherty, High Ridge.

Chris Molendorp, Belton.

Bob Nance, Excelsior Springs.

Don Phillips, Kimberling City.

Darrell Pollock, Lebanon.

Sheila Solon, Blue Springs.

Don Wells, Cabool.

Ray Weter, Nixa.

Paul Wieland, Imperial.

Billy Pat Wright, Dexter.


Ira Anders, Independence.

Bert Atkins, Florissant.

Joe Aull, Marshall.

Linda Black, Bonne Terre.

Susan Carlson, St. Louis.

Ron Casey, Crystal City.

Mike Colona, St. Louis.

Pat Conway, St. Joseph.

Rory Ellinger, St. Louis.

Brandon Ellington, Kansas City.

Joe Fallert, Ste. Genevieve.

Ben Harris, Hillsboro.

Steve Hodges, East Prairie.

Jason Holsman, Kansas City.

Leonard Hughes IV, Kansas City.

Jacob Hummel, St. Louis.

Jason Kander, Kansas City.

Chris Kelly, Columbia.

Jeanne Kirkton, St. Louis.

Michele Kratky, St. Louis.

Sara Lampe, Sringfield.

Karla May, St. Louis.

Gail McCann Beatty, Kansas City.

Tom McDonald, Independence.

Eileen McGeoghegan, St. Ann.

Kevin McManus, Kansas City.

Margo McNeil, Florissant.

Tim Meadows, Imperial.

Genise Montecillo, St. Louis.

Judy Morgan, Kansas City.

Stacey Newman, St. Louis.

Mary Nichols, Maryland Heights.

Jeanette Mott Oxford, St. Louis.

Sharon Pace, St. Louis.

Tommie Pierson, St. Louis.

Paul Quinn, Monroe City.

John Rizzo, Kansas City.

Ed Schieffer, Troy.

Jill Schupp, St. Louis.

Tom Shively, Shelbyville.

Clem Smith, St. Louis.

Churie Spreng, Florissant.

Mary Still, Columbia.

Jay Swearingen, North Kansas City.

Terry Swinger, Caruthersville.

Sylvester Taylor, Florissant.

Rochelle Walton Gray, Florissant.


Tracy McCreery, St. Louis.


Jeanie Lauer, Blue Springs.


Tishaura Jones, St. Louis.

Scott Sifton, St. Louis.

Stephen Webber, Columbia.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments