Mo. House backs stiffer penalties for baby deaths
Wednesday, March 7, 2012
JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — People who injure or kill a baby by shaking the child could face tougher penalties under legislation moving through the Missouri House.
The House has endorsed a measure expanding Missouri’s child abuse law to specifically cover causing a baby’s death or injury by shaking.
Sponsor Jeanie Riddle, a Republican from Mokane (moh-KAYN’), says current law makes it difficult to prosecute people when a child dies from “shaken baby syndrome.”
Her legislation would make it a crime to recklessly cause head injuries to any child.
A person who commits child abuse in Missouri currently faces up to seven years in prison and a $20,000 fine. Under Riddle’s legislation, anyone who commits child abuse on a child under the age of 2 would face five to 15 years in prison.
Shaken baby bill is HB1317
Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.
Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting