Nixon seeks to add Camden County to disaster declaration

County absent from list of those eligible for blizzard funds

Gov. Jay Nixon is asking President Barack Obama to add Camden County to the list of Missouri counties eligible for disaster aid to help defray the costs of snow removal during the Feb. 1 blizzard.

Fifty-nine counties were awarded disaster aid. The declaration will allow eligible counties, local governments and the state to seek millions of dollars in federal funds for disaster-related emergency response, snow removal and recovery expenses.

The federal government will reimburse the state and local governments for 75 percent of their eligible emergency response expenses associated with the severe winter storm.

Nixon had also sought disaster aid for Camden and Pike counties, but they were not included in the list of Missouri counties eligible for the aid.

The storm deposited up to 23 inches of snow in the state. Gov. Nixon closed Interstate 70 between St. Louis and Kansas City, and Interstate 44 from Springfield to Oklahoma. The storm saddled local and state governments with eligible costs estimated at more than $14 million for removal of the record or near-record snowfall.

Area counties included in the disaster declaration were: Boone, Callaway, Cole, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan and Osage.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments