Division II tourney fields set

MIAA teams claim berths

Several schools with Missouri ties were selected for the NCAA Division II men’s and women’s basketball tournaments when the fields were announced Sunday night.

On the men’s side, three members of the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association will take part in the South Central Regional hosted by No. 1 seed Central Oklahoma (28-3) in Edmond, Okla.

The MIAA will be represented by No. 2 seed Missouri Southern (25-4), which will take on a league foe, as Washburn (18-9) received the No. 7 seed. The other league school, Fort Hays State (25-6) is the No. 4 seed and will play fifth-seeded West Texas A&M (23-6).

Central Oklahoma will take on No. 8 Texas A&M International, while the final game pits No. 3 Tarleton State (24-5) and Midwestern State (22-8).

Drury (22-7) is the only other Missouri men’s school in the event, as the Panthers are the No. 7 seed in the Midwest Regional and will play No. 2 Southern Indiana (24-5).

On the women’s side, the MIAA will have two teams in the South Central Regional hosted by No. 1 Northeastern State in Tahlequah, Okla. — No. 2 Northwest Missouri State (24-4) and No. 4 Washburn (22-6).

Read additional details in our newspaper or e-Edition. Newspaper subscribers: Click on an e-Edition article and log in using your current account information at no extra charge. For e-edition help, e-mail circ@newstribune.com. Click here to purchase the full version of archived articles.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments