Today's Edition Local News Missouri News National News World Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Classifieds Jobs Newsletters Contests Search
story.lead_photo.caption Mike Shildt of the Cardinals is one of three finalists for the National League Manager of the Year award, it was announced Monday. Photo by Associated Press / News Tribune.

St. Louis Cardinals manager Mike Shildt is one of finalists to the National League Manager of the Year award, it was announced Monday.

Shildt is joined by Brian Snitker of the Atlanta Braves and Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers as finalists in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Voting was done at the end of the regular season.

The Yankees' Aaron Boone, Minnesota's Rocco Baldelli and Tampa Bay's Kevin Cash are finalists for A.L. Manager of the Year.

The Manager of the Year in both leagues will be announced Tuesday, Nov. 12.

Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout, Houston third baseman Alex Bregman and Oakland shortstop Marcus Semien are finalists for the A.L. MVP award.

Trout is seeking his third MVP after winning in 2014 and '16. He finished second in 2012, '13, '15 and '18.

Washington third baseman Anthony Rendon, Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Cody Bellinger and Milwaukee outfielder Christian Yelich are the top three for the N.L. honor. Yelich won last year's N.L. MVP award with 29 of 30 first-place votes.

Houston's Gerrit Cole and Justin Verlander are finalists for the A.L. Cy Young Award along with Tampa Bay's Charlie Morton. Verlander won the 2011 Cy Young with Detroit, when he also was voted MVP.

New York Mets ace Jacob deGrom is a finalist for the N.L. Cy Young Award after getting 29 of 30 first-place votes last year. He is competing with Washington's Max Scherzer and the Dodgers' Hyun-Jin Ryu. Scherzer is a three-time Cy Young winner.

Mets first baseman Pete Alonso, Atlanta right-hander Mike Soroka and San Diego shortstop Fernando Tats Jr. are finalists for the N.L. Rookie of the Year. Houston designated hitter Yordan lvarez, Tampa Bay second baseman Brandon Lowe and Baltimore left-hander John Means are the top candidates in the A.L.

Rookies of the Year are announced next Monday. Cy Youngs are announced Nov. 13 and MVPs on Nov. 14.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.