Today's Edition Local Missouri National World Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Classifieds Newsletters Contests Special Sections Jobs

BOURBON, Mo. — The Vienna Eagles won the Gasconade Valley Conference championship Saturday, finishing with 146 points to edge Steelville by three in the final team standings.

The Vienna boys, who won eight of the 19 events, were led by Mike Andrews, who was a quadruple-winner at the conference meet.

Andrews opened the meet with a win in the boys 110-meter hurdles with a time of 16.69 seconds, then turned around and won the 100-meter dash in 11.81 seconds. After helping the Eagles to a win in the 4x200-meter relay, which posted a time of 1:37.66, Andrews won his fourth event, the 300-meter hurdles, in 43.16 seconds.

Also running on the 4x200 for Vienna were Wyatt Coons, Jehoshua Casey and Nathan Kleffner.

Coons added a win in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:13.96, while Kleffner finished first in the high jump, clearing the bar at 5 feet, 9.75 inches. Danniel Casey, who posted four top-three finishes at the meet, won the boys javelin with a throw of 124-0.25.

The Vienna boys also won the 4x800-meter relay, as Evan Casey, Caleb Horman, Jehoshua Casey and Sam Douglas posted a first-place time of 10:18.19.

The Vienna Lady Eagles placed third in the final standings with 58 points. Steelville won the girls title with 150 points, 13 better than Cuba.

Riley Rosentreter accounted for the Lady Eagles' only win, placing first in the girls pole vault by clearing a height of 6-10.75.

Even with just two athletes competing, the Belle Lady Tigers finished fourth out of six teams with 28 points.

Gracie Schultz was a triple-winner, taking home titles in the girls long jump (15-7.5), the 100 (13.06 seconds) and the 200-meter dash (27.19 seconds). Schultz also placed second in the triple jump with a distance of 33-6.5.

Susan Moman won the girls javelin (121-2) and the shot put (33-6.5) for the Lady Tigers. She added a second-place throw of 113-2.25 in the discus.

The Belle Tigers were fifth as a team with 11 points. Baylar Smith was the team's only conference champion, placing first in the boys 3,200-meter run in a time of 11:58.16.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.