Today's Edition Local News Missouri News National News World Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Classifieds Jobs Newsletters Contests Search

The Missouri women's volleyball team is headed to Lincoln, Neb., after making the NCAA Tournament for the fifth consecutive season.

Missouri (21-7) will play Northern Iowa at 4:30 p.m. Friday, with the winner advancing to face the winner of the other first-round contest between Nebraska and Ball State at 7 p.m.

The Huskers (25-4) were given the No. 5 national seed. The winner of the Lincoln region will face the winner of the Honolulu region, which includes No. 12 Hawaii, Northern Colorado, San Diego and Washington State. Missouri played in Lincoln last season, too, beating Arizona 3-0 before falling to the 7-seed and eventual runner-up Nebraska 3-0.

It's the first postseason appearance in the Josh Taylor era. Taylor was named interim head coach after longtime head coaches Susan and Wayne Kreklow stepped down before the start of the season and promoted to full-time head coach Nov. 14.

Overall, it's the 16th postseason appearance for the Tigers in the last 20 seasons. Missouri has missed the NCAA tournament in consecutive seasons just once, from 2008-09. The Tigers have advanced past the first round of the tournament four times, in 2005, 2010, 2016 and 2017.

Six Southeastern Conference teams made the tournament: No. 9 Kentucky, No. 10 Florida, No. 13 Texas A&M, Missouri, Georgia and South Carolina. Baylor earned the overall No. 1 seed, followed by Texas, Stanford and Wisconsin.

Earlier Sunday, junior Kylie Deberg, redshirt sophomore Andrea Fuentes and junior Tyanna Omazic were named to the 2019 all-SEC team, tied for the second-most nominations by a single team. Kentucky, which earned the No. 9 seed, led the way with four, while the Tigers and Florida (seeded 10th) each had three. The All-SEC team is one team comprised of 18 players.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.