Today's Edition Local News Missouri News National News World Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Classifieds Jobs Newsletters Contests Search
story.lead_photo.caption Twenty-one troopers graduated Friday from the Missouri Highway Patrol's Law Enforcement Academy.

Twenty-one troopers graduated Friday from the Missouri Highway Patrol's Law Enforcement Academy.

The ceremony was livestreamed via Facebook Live, and attendance was by invitation only due to coronavirus pandemic guidelines.

The 109th Recruit Class reported to the patrol's academy Jan 6. to begin the 25-week training to become a trooper, according to a Highway Patrol news release. The new troopers will report to duty in their assigned troops July 13.

Four class awards were presented. The recruits accumulated points toward graduation in the categories of physical fitness, firearms and academics throughout their 25 weeks at the academy. The person with the highest number of points in each category earns the respective award.

Trooper Margarito Gallo Mejia, of Vail, Iowa, who will serve in Platte County, accepted the physical fitness award.

Trooper Tanner L. Wallace, of Ozark, who will serve in Cass County, accepted the firearms award and the academics award.

Trooper Colin E. Osborne, of Kirksville, who will serve in Lafayette County, accepted the superintendent's award, which is presented to the person with the most points overall.

Other members of the recruit class include:

Jonathan R. Boydston, of Kansas City, will serve in Platte County.

Kevin M. Cox, of Peculiar, will serve Cass County.

Thomas J. Whitaker, of Joplin, will serve in Johnson County.

Caleb L. Hirner, of New London, will serve in Chariton and Linn counties.

Kurtis A. Hurley, of Center, will serve in Clark and Scotland counties.

Mark D. Benson, of Park Hills, will serve in Jefferson County.

Daniel M. Bochucinski, of Plainfield, Illinois, will serve in Lincoln and Pike counties.

Zachary C. Crumley, of Benton, will serve in Franklin County.

Curtis L. Schilling, of Jackson, will serve in St. Charles County.

Ryan J. Steele, of Arcadia, will serve in Franklin County.

David L. Brawley, of Whitewater, will serve in New Madrid and Pemiscot counties.

Joshua J. Schuenemeyer, of Jackson, will serve in Scott, Mississippi and New Madrid counties.

Kage W. Etherton, of Aurora, will serve in North Howell and Shannon counties.

Jacob J. Smith, of Winona, will serve in North Howell and Shannon counties.

Byron D. Hahn, of Cameron, will serve in Harrison and Gentry counties.

Aaron M. Mapel, of St. Joseph, will serve in Nodaway and Worth counties.

Justin D. Morrison, of Springfield, will serve in Laclede County.

Colby B. Townsend, of St. Louis, will serve in Crawford County.

Related Article

Protesters demand Auxvasse police chief's removal

Read more
COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.