Today's Edition Elections Local Missouri National World Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Classifieds Newsletters Contests Special Sections Jobs

Document: Miller County Aug. 4, 2020, Primary Unofficial Results


Miller County voters largely backed incumbents in local primary races Tuesday, with all but one current officeholder securing re-election in contested races.

Of the seven county offices on the primary ballot, five were contested. All of the local candidates in Miller County are Republicans, so the primary winner faces no opposition in the November general election.

Miller County Sheriff Louis Gregoire won re-election to his second term with 57.19 percent of the vote, or 3,043 votes, defeating challenger Dave Stark, who received 42.81 percent of the vote, or 2,278 votes. The lifelong county resident campaigned on his experience from 21 years in the sheriff's office and a low turnover rate in terms of staff during his first term.

Don Abbett was the lone challenger to defeat an incumbent and will take over as First District commissioner with 32.15 percent of the vote, or 763 votes, in what was a five-way race. Incumbent Darrell Bunch received 30.85 percent or 732 votes. Gary Herigon received 21.58 percent or 512 votes, John Riley received 8.18 percent or 194 votes, and Dave Schwaller received 7.25 percent or 172 votes. Abbett campaigned on his experience as owner and operator of a contracting and construction businesses, as well as his farming experience.

Travis Lawson will serve a second term as Second District commissioner with 62.89 percent of the vote, or 1,678 votes, defeating challenger Randy Russell, who received 37.11 percent of the vote or 990 votes. Lawson campaigned on his experience in office, including overseeing several FEMA projects, as well as completing county projects and providing raises for employees.

Tim Bradley will serve a second term as coroner, winning 61.43 percent of the vote, or 2,845 votes, and defeating challenger Davey Foley, who received 38.57 percent or 1,786 votes. Bradley campaigned on his efforts during his first term, including expanding the office, doubling the budget for autopsies and purchasing a pharmaceutical grade freezer. He said he would work to update the office's filing system from paper to electronic and increase the amount and quality of training for staff during his second term.

Theresa I. Lupardus won her third term as public administrator with 56.05 percent, or 2,779 votes, defeating challenger Debra June Nichols, who received 43.95 percent, or 2,179 votes. Lupardus campaigned on her record and experience in her first two terms and said she would continue to seek education on the best and most effective ways to serve clients.

The two unopposed candidates were Miller County Assessor Joseph M. Cochran, who received 4,501 votes, and Surveyor Ricky L. Wilson, who received 4,298 votes, both incumbents.

Miller County saw a voter turnout of about 34 percent, with roughly 6,000 ballots cast out of nearly 17,500 registered voters.

Related Article

Two challengers prevail in Moniteau County commission race

Read more
COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.