Today's Edition Local News Missouri News National News World Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Classifieds Jobs Newsletters Contests Search
story.lead_photo.caption Water covered much of the Katy Trail in Callaway County from late May to early July. Photo by Helen Wilbers / News Tribune.

Property owners in Callaway County who were impacted by severe storms, tornadoes or flooding can now seek individual assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

FEMA added Callaway, Jefferson, Lewis, McDonald, Newton and Saline counties to President Donald Trump's July 9 major disaster declaration for individual assistance, according to a Tuesday news release from Gov. Mike Parson's office.

The major disaster declaration now makes individual assistance available to those impacted by flooding, tornadoes and severe storms between April 29 and July 5 in Cole, Callaway, Miller, Boone, Osage, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, McDonald, Newton, Pike, Platte, Pulaski, Saline and St. Charles counties.

Residents can use FEMA grants for temporary rental assistance, basic home repairs and other needs not covered by insurance.

"This is very welcome news for Missouri homeowners and renters who are working hard to recover and rebuild," Parson said in the news release. "FEMA assistance to individuals has sent nearly $5 million to help more than 1,000 Missouri families since the disaster was first declared on July 9. The extension of the disaster to these six additional counties means more people will receive important financial assistance."

People can register with FEMA by calling 800-621-3362 from 7 a.m.-10 p.m. any day, by visiting, or stopping by a FEMA disaster recovery center.

Related Article

Mokane family rebuilds after flood

Read more

The Cole County disaster recovery center is located at 1736 Southridge Drive.

The center's hours will change starting this Friday, FEMA spokesman John Mills said. Hours will be 8 a.m.-6 p.m. Monday through Friday and 9 a.m.-2 p.m. Saturday.

FEMA is also reopening the Miller County disaster recovery center in Eldon on Friday at 309 E. Second St., Mills said. The center will be open 8 a.m.-6 p.m. Friday and Monday and 9 a.m.-2 p.m. Saturday.

It is unknown if or when FEMA will open a disaster recovery center in Callaway County.

Individuals in those 26 counties are also eligible for tax relief through the Internal Revenue Service, according to a Tuesday news release.

The IRS can postpone certain deadlines for taxpayers who live or own a business in those counties. For example, some deadlines on or after April 29 but before Aug. 30 could be extended, the news release states.

Penalties on payroll and excise tax deposits that were due on or after April 29 but before May 14 will be abated as long as the deposits were made by May 14, the news release adds.

If an affected resident receives a late filing or late payment penalty notice from the IRS that "has an original or extended filing, payment or deposit due date that falls within the postponement period," the taxpayer can call the phone number on the notice to have the IRS abate the penalty, according to the news release.

While the IRS automatically identifies taxpayers in the disaster area and applies tax relief, affected individuals who live or own businesses outside of the covered disaster area must call 866-562-5227 to request tax relief.

Related Article

Callaway County farmers discuss lasting impact of flood, hopes for future

Read more

The U.S. Small Business Administration will most likely not open a business recovery center in the recently added counties, SBA Public Information Officer Corey Williams said. However, there will be SBA representatives at the FEMA disaster recovery centers, he added.

SBA offers low-interest loans to businesses, renters, homeowners and nonprofits in places hit by declared disasters.

Residents can apply for assistance through SBA by calling 800-659-2955, or visiting one of FEMA's disaster recovery centers.

Last month, FEMA announced it would provide public assistance to local governments and nonprofits in 68 counties recovering from flooding and severe storms that occurred between April 29 and July 5. This means FEMA will help with the cost to repair damaged roads, bridges and other public infrastructure, as well as with emergency response costs associated with the storms and flooding.

Counties that can apply for FEMA public assistance are Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Barry, Barton, Bates, Bollinger, Buchanan, Caldwell, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carroll, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Cole, Dade, Dallas, Daviess, Douglas, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Howell, Jackson, Jasper, Knox, Laclede, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Mercer, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, New Madrid, Newton, Nodaway, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, Stoddard, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Residents affected by the recent storms, tornadoes and flooding have until Sept.9 to register for disaster assistance through FEMA and property damage loans through SBA. The deadline to apply for economic injury loans through SBA is April 9, 2020.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.