Today's Edition Elections Local Missouri National World Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Classifieds Newsletters Contests Special Sections Jobs

Under Missouri law, election officials don’t have to count a write-in vote unless that person filed a “declaration of intent” form before the election with the local election authority or, for state and federal offices, with the secretary of state.

Oct. 26 was this year’s deadline for making that declaration.

Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft’s office announced 12 candidates filed as write-ins for state or federal offices, including five for U.S. Senate and one for state auditor.

Also, Christina Smith, of Jefferson City — who ran for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate on the Aug. 7 primary ballot — filed as a write-in candidate for the 6th District state Senate seat that had been held by Republican Mike Kehoe, until he became lieutenant governor in June.

For U.S. Senate, Ashcroft’s office said, the write-in candidates are: Martin Luther Dzerzhinsky Lindstedt, Steven Wallace, Gina Bufe, Rodney Stock and Cassie Ganier.

Arnie C. AC Dienoff filed as a write-in candidate for state auditor.

The two other write-in candidates filed with Ashcroft are for state representative seats in the St. Louis and Ste. Genevieve areas.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.