Today's Edition Local News Missouri News National News World Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Classifieds Jobs Newsletters Contests Search
story.lead_photo.caption California voters in Ward 3 were voting early Aug. 7, 2018, with 70 voters casting their ballots by 8 a.m. Kathy Porter is shown casting her ballot. Moniteau County Clerk Roberta Elliott predicted a 40 percent voter turnout overall. Photo by David Wilson / News Tribune.

A sometimes soggy Tuesday didn't dampen the Moniteau County primary election turnout, where 43 percent of the registered voters went to the polls.

The ballot featured two locally contested races in the Republican primary: associate circuit judge and presiding county commissioner. The winners of those races face no opponent in the November general election and are virtually assured of election.

Associate Circuit Judge Aaron J. Martin won the Republican primary with 2,530 votes, or 73.04 percent of the vote, defeating challenger Ann Perry, who had 934 votes, or 26.96 percent of the vote.

Mac Finley won the Republican nomination for presiding commissioner with 1,680 votes, or 51.16 percent, defeating Johnny Reichel, who had 1,316 votes, or 40.07 percent, and Chris Floyd, who had 288 votes, or 8.77 percent.

In other Moniteau County elections, Jamestown voters narrowly rejected a 1 percent city sales tax by a vote of 60-56.

The local ballots featured several uncontested races on the Republican ticket; those candidates are virtually assured of election in November.

The offices, candidates and vote totals are as follows: circuit clerk and ex officio recorder of deeds, Mandy M. Burger, 2,918 votes; county clerk, Roberta Elliott, 3,065 votes; prosecuting attorney, Shayne W. Healea, 2,636 votes; and collector of revenue, Ellen A. Ash, 3,003 votes.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.