Today's Edition Local Missouri Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Election '23 Contests Classifieds Public notices Newsletters Jobs NT Magazines Special Sections National World

Missouri's O’Toole wins second NCAA title at 165 pounds

by News Tribune | March 19, 2023 at 12:41 a.m.
Missouri's Keegan O'Toole celebrates after defeating Iowa State's David Carr in the 165-pound weight class championship match at the NCAA Division I wrestling national championships Saturday in Tulsa, Okla. (Tulsa World via the Associated Press)

TULSA, Okla. -- Keegan O’Toole of Missouri earned his second NCAA Division I wrestling championship Saturday night.

O’Toole repeated as the individual champion at 165 pounds with an 8-2 decision against David Carr of Iowa State.

O’Toole scored a first-period takedown to take a 2-0 lead. Carr picked up an escape in the second period to trim O’Toole’s lead to 2-1 going to the third period.

In that final period, O’Toole got an escape, followed by a takedown and a set of near fall points. Carr got a late escape to make the final 8-2.

O’Toole is the third repeat individual national champion in Missouri history, joining Ben Askren (2006-07) and J’Den Cox (2016-17).

O’Toole, the No. 2 seed at his weight, ends the season with a record of 19-2. Carr, the No. 1 seed, ends at 26-1.

Carr had defeated O’Toole earlier this month in the finals of the Big 12 Conference Tournament.

Rocky Elam of Missouri finished third at 197 winning a 5-2 decision against Bernie Traux of Cal Poly. Elam ends with a 15-2 record.

Zach Elam of the Tigers was sixth at 285. He lost 4-3 in the fifth-place match to Lucas Davidson of Northwestern.

Brock Mauller of Missouri finished seventh at 149 with a 6-2 victory against Michael Brockhus of Minnesota.

Peyton Mocco of the Tigers was eighth at 174, falling 12-2 to Ethan Smith of Ohio State in the seventh-place match.

The five All-Americans tied a Missouri program record. It had been achieved four other times, the last in 2017.

Missouri finished fifth in the final team standings with 64.5 points. Penn State was first with 137.5, followed by Iowa (82.5), Cornell (76.5) and Ohio State (70.5).


Sponsor Content