Today's Edition Local Missouri Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo Events Election '23 Contests Classifieds Public notices Newsletters Jobs NT Magazines Special Sections National World

Callaway County ballots to feature several races, issues

by Anakin Bush | February 22, 2023 at 4:01 a.m.
A polling place at Holts Summit during the Primary Election in August. Voters in Callaway County can find their polling location on the Callaway County Clerk's website.

FULTON, Mo. -- Early voting has begun for the April 4 election, which will feature propositions and races across Callaway County.

The period for early voting began Monday, and will continue until April 3.

The last day to register to vote for the upcoming election is March 8. Registration can be completed online at the Missouri Secretary of State's website. Voter registration can also be checked online.

The last day to request a ballot by mail for absentee voting is March 22. The Callaway County Clerk will be in the office for absentee voters April 1.

An absentee ballot can be requested by filling out a form on the Callaway County Clerk's website.

The location of polling places across the county can also be found on the county clerk's website.

One issue on the ballot asks if the county should "impose a countywide sales tax of three percent (3 percent) on all tangible personal property retail sales of adult use marijuana sold in Callaway County, Missouri."

Callaway County does not currently have a recreational or medical marijuana dispensary.

The 3 percent tax will be on the ballot for Holts Summit, Fulton, Kingdom City and Jefferson City.

Several school board races will also be on the April 4 ballot.

• New Bloomfield R-3 School District: Five candidates -- Josh Woods, Gina Clark, Angie Sullivan, Robert Martin and Ciara Wright -- are seeking three seats.

• Jefferson City School District: Five candidates -- Scott Hovis, Brad Bates, Michael Harvey, Tapiwa Madondo and Suzanne Luther -- are seeking three seats.

• South Callaway R-2 School District: Five candidates -- Aaron Dickinson, Wendy Akers, Penny Felkner, Justin Lauf and Delbert Finney -- are seeking three seats.

The Mokane mayoral race is uncontested.

Print Headline: Callaway County ballots to feature several races, issues


Sponsor Content