Today's Edition Local Missouri Opinion Obits Sports GoMidMo HER Magazine Events Classifieds Public notices Newsletters Election '23 Contests Jobs Special Sections National World

Helfrich wins circuit court judge in Osage County

by Anna Watson | November 9, 2022 at 4:45 a.m.

Unofficial results in the Osage County general election show Ryan Helfrich won the 20th Circuit Court judge seat, defeating Bill Stahlhuth in the only locally contested race for the county.

Voters elected Helfrich, a Republican, over Stahlhuth, a Democrat, for circuit court judge, which serves Franklin, Gasconade and Osage counties. In Osage County, Helrich received 4,620 of the 5,358 votes cast, or nearly 83 percent of the vote.

Across all three counties, Helfrich's total was 35,823, compared to Stahlhuth's 11,120 votes.

Darryl Griffin was elected the county's presiding commissioner. Griffin, a Republican, received 5,051 votes in his uncontested race. He won against John Galvin in August, who formerly served as a commissioner during prior years.

The presiding commissioner is paid $29,390 per year; the two other commissioners are paid $27,390. They serve four-year terms.

Tina Kammerich, a Republican, was named county assessor. Kammerich was uncontested in Tuesday's election, but beat opponent Gary Storey in the August primary.

Many other local candidates were named victors in their respective uncontested races: Republican Sonya Brandt, associate circuit judge; Democrat Beth Billington, circuit court clerk; Republican Nicci Kamemrich, county commissioner clerk; Democrat Cindy Hoffman, recorder of deeds; Republican Denise Nolte, revenue collector; and Republican Valerie Prater, treasurer.

Those positions are paid $41,500 annually and serve four-year terms, per statute, according to the Osage County Clerk's office.

Amanda Grellner, a Republican, was elected as the prosecuting attorney. Grellner's race was also unopposed. The clerk's office said the prosecutor works part-time and receives a yearly salary of $51,000.

All results are unofficial.

For U.S. Senator, Republican Eric Schmitt received 4,570 votes (82 percent), and Democrat opponent Trudy Busch Valentine received 855 (15.4 percent), Libertarian Jonathan Dine received 76 votes (1.3 percent), and Constitution Party candidate Paul Venable received 14 votes (0.25 percent).

Scott Fitzpatrick received 85.6 percent of votes for Missouri auditor within Osage County.

For the U.S. Representative of District 3, Blaine Luetkemeyer, the Republican, beat opponent Bethany Mann, taking 4,813 of the 5,496 votes cast. Republican Bruce Sassmann was uncontested for state representative of the 61st District, and he received 5,001 votes.

The county didn't support Amendments 1, 3 or the constitutional amendment question posed statewide.

Osage County voted 1,992-3,259 against Amendment 1 that would authorize the state treasurer to invest in municipal securities possessing one of the five highest long-term ratings or the highest short-term rating.

About 68 percent of votes throughout the county cast against Amendment 3, ending the prohibition on the recreational marijuana industry. About 56 percent of votes were cast for Amendment 4, allowing the Missouri General Assembly to pass a law requiring Kansas City to increase funding for its police force without reimbursement from the state.

About 61 percent of votes were cast for Amendment 5 that would move the Missouri National Guard under its own agency instead of the Department of Public Safety.

For the question related to the constitutional convention, nearly 70 percent of voters county-wide voted "no."

Print Headline: Helfrich wins circuit court judge in Osage County


Sponsor Content