Today's Edition About us Local Opinion Obits Sports Things to do Classifieds Newsletters Podcasts Contact us

Tigers get SEC honors from league's coaches

December 10, 2014 at 1:00 a.m. | Updated December 10, 2014 at 1:00 a.m.

Missouri Tigers accounted for seven spots on the Southeastern Conference coaches' all-SEC list Tuesday, matching the number named all-conference by the Associated Press on Monday.

Shane Ray was named a first-team defensive end and Marcus Murphy made the first-team list twice, as an all-purpose player and return specialist. Offensive lineman Mitch Morse, receiver Bud Sasser, defensive lineman Markus Golden and defensive back Braylon Webb were named second-teamers.

Unlike the AP's list, the SEC coaches only name first- and second-teamers and do not include honorable mentions.

Morse did not receive recognition from the AP, and Golden was an AP honorable mention. Sasser was a first-team receiver on the AP's list, which included four more second-teamers than the coaches' list.

Missouri tied Alabama for the league lead with seven all-conference players on the coaches' team. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Linebacker Kentrell Brothers (second team) and defensive tackle Harold Brantley (honorable mention) were recognized by the AP but did not make the coaches' list.

SEC coaches' individual awards will be announced today. Shane Ray was named the conference's defensive player of the year by the AP on Monday. The SEC all-freshman team will be announced Thursday.

For the complete list of coaches' honorees, please see page C8.


Sponsor Content