July 21, 2013
The Stone House at 728 West Main St. in Jefferson City is owned by the Conservation Federation of Missouri, but dates to the Civil War.
Stories this photo appears in:
The unique “cotton rock” limestone of Mid-Missouri was used to construct many of the earliest buildings in Jefferson City. Prussian-born immigrant Bernard Eveler constructed a duplex at the corner of West Main and Clay streets entirely with this uneven medium between 1854-60.
Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.
Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting