Jefferson City, MO 80° View Live Radar Sun H 94° L 70° Mon H 93° L 69° Tue H 90° L 68° Weather Sponsored By:

Area seats draw candidates

Area seats draw candidates

February 26th, 2014 in News

In this Feb. 25, 2014 file photo, perpetual candidate Leonard Steinman waits his turn to file at the Missouri Secretary of State's office to run as a Republican in the 2014 congressional race against Blaine Luetkemeyer.

Photo by Julie Smith

Six Mid-Missouri Republican incumbents, including all three Jefferson City lawmakers, drew no opposition on the first day of state candidate filings.

But several other area lawmakers already know they will face either primary or general election contests.

And two incumbent House members will vie for a move to the state Senate, in the reconfigured 10th District that includes Callaway County.

Freshman Sen. Mike Kehoe filed Tuesday morning with the secretary of state's office for a second four-year term. His 6th District includes Cole, Moniteau, Morgan, Miller, Maries, Osage and Gasconade counties.

State Reps. Mike Bernskoetter and Jason (Jay) Barnes both filed for third two-year terms.

Bernskoetter's 59th House District includes part of eastern Jefferson City, most of Cole County, including the northeastern and southwestern areas, and a portion of north-central Miller County.

"I believe better days are ahead for our state and country, and I look forward to the challenges and opportunities to come," Bernskoetter said in a news release. "Last year, we were able to increase state worker pay by $500. That's not nearly enough to recognize the hard work that they do, but as our state improves so will the opportunity to do more for them.

"I believe that with the aggressive agenda we seek this year to cut taxes and improve education, businesses and families will grow and thrive in Missouri."

Barnes' 60th House District includes all of Jefferson City except for the eastern portion.

Other area lawmakers with no first day opposition included:

• Rep. Caleb Jones, R-California, whose 50th House District includes the northwestern part of Cole County, northern Moniteau County, eastern Cooper County and southern Boone County up to southern Columbia.

• Rep. David Wood, R-Versailles, whose 58th House District includes Morgan County, southern Moniteau County and a small portion of northwestern Miller County.

• Rep. Rocky Miller, R-Lake Ozark, whose 124th House District includes southern Miller and northern Camden counties.

• Rep. Diane Franklin, R-Camdenton, whose 123rd House District includes southern Camden and eastern Laclede counties.

Incumbent Rep. Jeanie Riddle, R-Mokane - who could have served one more two-year term in the House - filed Tuesday for the 10th District state Senate seat that includes Callaway, Audrain, Monroe, Montgomery, Warren and Lincoln counties.

And term-limited Rep. Ed Schieffer, D-Troy, filed for the Democratic nomination for the 10th Senate District seat.

Travis Fitzwater, R-Fulton, filed to succeed Riddle in the 49th House District that includes southern Callaway County.

Incumbent Rep. Dave Schatz, R-Sullivan, could have served two more two-year terms in the House, but filed Tuesday as a GOP challenger to incumbent Sen. Brian Nieves, R-Washington.

Schatz' 61st House District includes northern Osage and Gasconade counties, and northwestern Franklin County.

Republican Justin Alferman, Hermann, filed Tuesday to succeed Schatz.

And incumbent freshman Rep. Tom Hurst, R-St. Thomas, drew a primary challenge from Bruce Sassman, R-Bland. The 62nd House District stretches from southeastern Cole and northeastern Miller counties, across Maries County and southern Osage and Gasconade counties, to a piece of northwestern Crawford County.

Incumbent Sen. Dan Brown, R-Rolla, whose district includes Camden County, drew a primary challenge Tuesday from Bernard (Bernie) Mowinski, R-Sunrise Beach.

Incumbent U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer, R-St. Elizabeth, drew three challengers on the first day of filing.

Because of the first-day lottery, Luetkemeyer will be listed second on the Aug. 5 primary ballot, with Leonard Steinman of Jefferson City listed first, and John Morris of St. Peters in St. Charles County listed third.

Velma Steinman, Leonard's wife, filed as a Democratic candidate for the congressional seat.

Incumbent Vicky Hartzler, R-Harrisonville, didn't file Tuesday for the 4th District congressional seat, nor did any Democrat sign up for the race.

But two Libertarians - Herschel L. Young, Harrisonville, and Randall Langkraehr, Warrensburg - joined the contest.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. March 25 to file.