Jefferson City, MO 73° View Live Radar Mon H 79° L 63° Tue H 85° L 66° Wed H 88° L 67° Weather Sponsored By:

Three Cardinals up for National League awards

Three Cardinals up for National League awards

November 5th, 2013 in News

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina is one of three finalists for the N.L. MVP Award.

Photo by The Associated Press /News Tribune.

A trio of St. Louis Cardinals are finalists for National League annual awards that will be presented next week.

Yadier Molina, Adam Wainwright and Shelby Miller are among the finalists announced Tuesday for the Baseball Writers' of America Association awards.

Molina is a finalist for the National League Most Valuable Player, along with Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt and Pirates centerfielder Andrew McCutchen.

The MVP winner will be announced Thursday, Nov. 14.

Wainwright is up for the Cy Young Award. The other two finalists are Jose Fernandez of the Marlins and Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers.

The Cy Young winner will be announced Wednesday, Nov. 13.

Miller is one of three finalists for the Rookie of the Year. He is joined by Fernandez and Yasiel Puig of the Dodgers.

The Rookie of the Year will be released Monday.

Finalists for the National League Manager of the year are Fredi Gonzalez of the Braves, Clint Hurdle of the Pirates and Don Mattingly of the Dodgers. That award will be announced Tuesday.

Finalists for the American League Awards include:

• MVP: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers; Chris Davis, Orioles; Mike Trout, Angels.

• Cy Young: Yu Darvish, Rangers; Hisashi Iwakuma, Mariners; Max Scherzer, Tigers.

• Manager of the Year: John Farrell, Red Sox; Terry Francona, Indians; Bob Melvin, Athletics.

• Rookie of the Year: Chris Archer, Rays; Jose Iglesias, Red Sox/Tigers; Wil Myers, Rays.