Jefferson City, MO 73° View Live Radar Sun H 95° L 70° Mon H 92° L 69° Tue H 91° L 69° Weather Sponsored By:

Caldwell-Pope gets SEC's top honor

Caldwell-Pope gets SEC's top honor

March 12th, 2013 in News

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) - Georgia's Kentavious Caldwell-Pope has been named Southeastern Conference player of the year by league coaches.

Florida's Billy Donovan is the SEC coach of the year and Kentucky's Nerlens Noel is the top freshman and defensive player. The league released the awards and All-SEC teams Tuesday.

Caldwell-Pope is the SEC's No. 2 scorer with 18.0 points a game. He's one of only 10 Division I players to score in double figures in every game.

Donovan led the Gators to the regular season SEC title for a fourth time.

Noel blocked 106 shots in 24 games before sustaining a season-ending knee injury on Feb. 12. He averaged 10.5 points and 9.5 rebounds.

Kentucky teammate Kyle Wiltjer is Sixth Man of the Year while Florida's Patric Young earned Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) - A list of the coaches All-Southeastern Conference first- and second-team picks, all-defensive and freshman All-SEC teams and individual awards. League coaches voted for eight members on the first and second teams. They were not permitted to vote for their own players and ties were not broken.

First Team

Trevor Releford, Alabama, G, jr.

Erik Murphy, Florida, F/C, sr.

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia, G, soph.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky, F, fr.

Johnny O'Bryant III, LSU, F, soph.

Phil Pressey, Missouri, G, jr.

Jordan McRae, Tennessee, G, jr.

Elston Turner, Texas A&M, G, sr.

Second Team

Marshawn Powell, Arkansas, F, jr.

B.J. Young, Arkansas, G, soph.

Kenny Boynton, Florida, G, sr.

Mike Rosario, Florida, G, sr.

Patric Young, Florida, C, jr.

Marshall Henderson, Mississippi, G, jr.

Murphy Holloway, Mississippi, F, sr.

Laurence Bowers, Missouri, F, sr.

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee, F, soph.

All-Freshman Team

Michael Frazier II, Florida, G.

Charles Mann, Georgia, G.

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky, F.

Archie Goodwin, Kentucky, G.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky, F.

Alex Poythress, Kentucky, F.

Craig Sword, Mississippi State, G.

Gavin Ware, Mississippi State, F.

Michael Carrera, South Carolina, F.

All-Defensive Team

Trevor Releford, Alabama, G, jr.

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida, G, jr.

Patric Young, Florida, C, jr.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky, F, fr.

Anthony Hickey, LSU, G, soph.

Reginald Buckner, Mississippi, F, sr.

SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida

SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young, Florida

SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky

SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky