Jefferson City, MO 72° View Live Radar Thu H 78° L 64° Fri H 75° L 61° Sat H 80° L 66° Weather Sponsored By:

Linn State president honored at Ag Educators convention

Linn State president honored at Ag Educators convention

December 18th, 2013 in News

Don Claycomb, Linn State Technical College's president, is an "Outstanding Coordinator," according to the National Association of Agricultural Educators.

The Kentucky-based group is the professional association for agricultural educators - its mission is "professionals providing agricultural education for the global community through visionary leadership, advocacy and service."

The NAAE gave Claycomb the award on Dec. 6 in Las Vegas during its annual convention, and noted in a news release that Claycomb'a 48-year education career began with a high school agriculture teaching job in Tabor, Iowa.

He later moved to Trenton, Mo.

Claycomb has served as the Missouri State Council on Vocational Education's executive director, and as an agricultural education professor at both the University of Missouri and at Kansas State University.

He's been Linn State's president for more than 20 years - and was part of the

administration making the transition from a technical college owned by the Linn R-2 School District to a state-owned school with a statewide mission.

Under his leadership, the NAAE noted, "LSTC has become one of the most successful technical colleges in Missouri, with one of the highest graduation rates of all public institutions in the state.

"LSTC has served as a partner with the Missouri Vocational Agriculture Teachers Association and Missouri FFA in many areas (and) sponsors the social at the Missouri summer agriculture teacher conference and donates items for auctions and fundraisers throughout the year."

Throughout his career, Claycomb has received numerous awards for his support and contribution to agricultural education, including the Honorary State and American FFA Degree and the Missouri SkillsUSA Service Recognition Award in 2004.

He was inducted into the Missouri Institute of Cooperatives Hall of Fame in 2006.

Claycomb was one of six people receiving the NAAE's Outstanding Cooperation Award, each based on the region they serve.