Jefferson City, MO 74° View Live Radar Sat H 83° L 67° Sun H 89° L 71° Mon H 89° L 73° Weather Sponsored By:

Area players honored by coaches association

Area players honored by coaches association

December 8th, 2013 in News

Wyatt Porter and Michael Tannehill played huge roles in leading the Helias Crusaders back to the Class 4 state championship football game.

And for their efforts, Porter and Tannehill received special recognition Friday from the Missouri Football Coaches Association.

Porter, the Crusaders quarterback, and Tannehill, a middle linebacker, were named the Class 4 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively, by the association.

Porter finished 175-of-277 passing for more than 2,800 yards and 34 touchdowns. The senior leaves Helias as the school's all-time leader in completions, passing yards and passing touchdowns.

Tannehill played a key role in a Helias defense that gave up an average of less than two touchdowns per game. The senior led Helias with 170 tackles this season, including eight for loss. He also had three sacks.

Porter and Tannehill were two of six Crusaders to earn first-team all-state honors by the coaches.

Porter was joined on offense by running back Garrett Buschjost, tight end Hale Hentges and offensive lineman Will Fife. Blake Wilbers of the Crusaders was selected as a defensive lineman.

The coaches association also released its all-district teams Friday as the Crusaders claimed 16 spots on the squad, including the six all-state selections.

Other offensive picks were wide receiver Ryan Tannehill, lineman Brody Buschjost and kicker J.C. Szumigala.

Other defensive picks were linebackers Pat Ward, Shane Colonius and Jon Wildhaber, along with Szumigala, Nick Haslag, Trent Dudenhoeffer and Todd Buschjost in the secondary.

The coaches all-district teams are made up of players from the eight schools in the MSHSAA assignments.


THE JEFFERSON CITY Jays claimed three spots on the Class 6 coaches all-state team.

Hayden Strobel, a senior, was selected to the first team at linebacker. Gabe Marcantonio was named in two spots. The senior was picked to the second team offense as an athlete and as a specialist at punter.

Other all-district selections were Brayden Byrd on the offensive line and Jordan Robinson on the defensive line.


THE BLAIR OAKS Falcons had five players named to the Class 2 team.

The Falcons had a pair of first-team selections on offense - Dominic Jamerson at running back and Hayden Haney on the line.

The other three were selected to the second-team defense - Corbin Singer on the line, Caleb Bischoff at linebacker and Mikel Drehle in the secondary.

Other all-district picks were Chris Cooper at kicker, Chance Cumpton on the defensive line, Dalton Fifer on the offensive line, Jordan Hair at quarterback, Haydn Lock at receiver and Cole Stockman and Peyton Wilde at linebacker.


THE SOUTH CALLAWAY Bulldogs had four players named in Class 2.

Garner Rudroff led the contingent, being named to the first-team defense in the secondary.

Seth Jennings of the Bulldogs was picked to the second team on the offensive line. The Bulldogs also earned two spots as specialists - Zach Marty as punter and Cory Hanger as a returner.

Other all-district selections were Dakota Ballard on the defensive line, Troy Hentges at quarterback, Mason Shoemaker in the secondary and Ethan Ward at wide receiver.


THE CALIFORNIA PINTOS earned seven spots on the Class 3 team.

The Pintos had two first-team picks - Alexx Lewis on the offensive line and Nathan Squires on the defensive line.

Named to the second team were Jaden Barr in the secondary and Aaron Ceuvas at kicker. Third-team picks are Walker Borghardt at running back, Jon Goans on the offensive line and Jerry Lutz at linebacker.


THREE OTHER AREA schools had all-state selections in Class 3.

Dylan Jeffries of School of the Osage was picked as a receiver on the first team. Three Osage players - Seth Crooks at linebacker, Sam Smith on the defensive line and Jacob Ulmer at wide receiver -were also all-district performers.

Eldon had two players named to the all-state second team - Wyatt Bashore on the defensive line and Dalton Lister in the secondary.

Other all-district picks for the Mustangs include offensive linemen Justin Asher and Graham Baucorn, Wyatt Greenwalt at quarterback, Zach Lemen and Garrett Scrivner at linebacker and Wren Rodriguez at wide receiver

David Holland of Southern Boone was named to the all-state squad as a first-team returner. He was joined on the all-district team by running backs Grant Anderson and David Holland, quarterback Brice Mueller and Kaleb Nichols on the offensive line. Holland was also selected as a returner.

The Versailles Tigers had four all-district players - Jonathan Cunningham at running back, Rex Sheeley on the offensive line, Keegan Rea at linebacker and Raine Ryerson in the secondary.


IN CLASS 1, the Tipton Cardinals had four players selected to the all-district tea.

The Cardinals honored include Dylan Cooper at quarterback, David Richardson at tight end, Aaron Rugen at linebacker and Logan Hirst at defensive back.