Jefferson City, MO 72° View Live Radar Tue H 90° L 71° Wed H 92° L 75° Thu H 98° L 74° Weather Sponsored By:

Koster, Kinder win; other Missouri races close

Koster, Kinder win; other Missouri races close

November 6th, 2012 in News

Republican Lt. Gov. Peter Kinder has secured a third term, becoming the second Missourian to win three elections for the office.

Election results Tuesday show Kinder defeated Democratic former state Auditor Susan Montee.

Kinder had been expected to run for governor this year but instead decided to run for re-election as lieutenant governor. The other Missourian to win three lieutenant governor elections is Democrat Frank Harris, who first took office started in 1933.

Democratic Attorney General Chris Koster won a second term Tuesday, while several other candidates for statewide offices were in close races hours after the polls closed.

Koster held off a challenge from Republican Ed Martin, who was chief of staff to former Gov. Matt Blunt.

Republican Shane Schoeller was leading Democrat Jason Kander in the race for secretary of state. The two state House colleagues were competing to succeed incumbent Secretary of State Robin Carnahan, who decided against seeking a third term.

The secretary of state is Missouri's chief elections officer, and elections issues played a prominent role in the campaign.

Schoeller, of Willard, has backed a requirement that voters show a photo ID at the polls and has proposed a new state commission to consider complaints about the fairness and accuracy of ballot summaries for initiatives.

Kander, who is from Kansas City, argues recent photo ID proposals have been extreme and unfair and the ballot summary panel would inject more politics. He supports an early voting period.

The treasurer's campaign between Zweifel and McNary received the least attention heading into Election Day.

The campaigns for the four statewide offices largely were overshadowed this fall by higher-profile races in Missouri, but the outcomes could have a significant effect on how state government operates for the next four years.