Jefferson City, MO 51° View Live Radar Sun H 61° L 51° Mon H 60° L 48° Tue H 66° L 47° Weather Sponsored By:

Mo. voters to decide on changes to judge selection

Mo. voters to decide on changes to judge selection

May 10th, 2012 in News

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) - A proposed constitutional amendment to revise the selection process for appellate judges is headed to Missouri voters.

Members of the Missouri Supreme Court and the state Court of Appeals are appointed by the governor from three finalists recommended by a special commission. The commission is made up of one Supreme Court judge, three lawyers and three non-lawyers picked by the governor.

Under the proposed amendment, the commission would nominate four finalists. The proposal also would replace the Supreme Court judge on the commission with a fourth person chosen by the governor. A former appellate judge would serve as a nonvoting member of the commission.

House members on Thursday gave the proposal final legislative approval 84-71. It passed the Senate last week.


Judicial selection is SJR51



The 84-71 roll call by which the Missouri House voted Thursday to approve a proposed constitutional amendment that would change how state appellate judges are selected.

Voting "yes" were 83 Republicans and 1 Democrat.

Voting "no" were 20 Republicans, 50 Democrats and 1 Independent.

Not voting were 3 Republicans and 5 Democrats.


Sue Allen, Town and Country.

Randy Asbury, Higbee.

Kurt Bahr, O'Fallon.

Ellen Brandom, Sikeston.

Rick Brattin, Harrisonville.

Cloria Brown, St. Louis.

Wanda Brown, Lincoln.

Eric Burlison, Springfield.

John Cauthorn, Mexico.

Kathie Conway, St. Charles.

Steve Cookson, Fairdealing.

Stanley Cox, Sedalia.

Sandy Crawford, Buffalo.

Gary Cross, Lee's Summit.

Paul Curtman, Pacific.

Charlie Davis, Webb City.

David Day, Dixon.

Charlie Denison, Springfield.

Scott Dieckhaus, Washington.

John Diehl, St. Louis.

Tony Dugger, Hartville.

Kevin Elmer, Nixa.

Sue Entlicher, Bolivar.

Paul Fitzwater, Potosi.

Tom Flanigan, Carthage.

Lyndall Fraker, Marshfield.

Diane Franklin, Camdenton.

Ward Franz, West Plains.

Keith Frederick, Rolla.

Gary Fuhr, St. Louis.

Doug Funderburk, St. Peters.

Chuck Gatschenberger, Lake St. Louis.

Don Gosen, Chesterfield.

Jeff Grisamore, Lee's Summit.

Casey Guernsey, Bethany.

Marsha Haefner, St. Louis.

Kent Hampton, Malden.

Galen Higdon, St. Joseph.

Denny Hoskins, Warrensburg.

Lincoln Hough, Springfield.

Jay Houghton, Martinsburg.

Delus Johnson, St. Joseph.

Tim Jones, Eureka.

Caleb Jones, Clarksburg.

Shelley Keeney, Marble Hill.

Glen Klippenstein, Maysville.

Andrew Koenig, Ballwin.

Mike Lair, Chillicothe.

Bill Lant, Joplin.

Scott Largent, Clinton.

Jeanie Lauer, Blue Springs.

Melissa Leach, Springfield.

Mike Leara, St. Louis.

Tom Loehner, Koeltztown.

Thomas Long, Battlefield.

John McCaherty, High Ridge.

Mike McGhee, Odessa.

Cole McNary, Chesterfield.

Chris Molendorp, Belton.

Bob Nance, Excelsior Springs.

Mark Parkinson, St. Charles .

Don Phillips, Kimberling City.

Craig Redmon, Canton.

Bill Rieboldt, Neosho.

Jeanie Riddle, Mokane.

Don Ruzicka, Mount Vernon.

Rodney Schad, Versailles.

Dwight Scharnhorst, High Ridge.

Dave Schatz, Sullivan.

Vicki Schneider, O'Fallon.

Shane Schoeller, Willard.

Lindell Shumake, Hannibal.

Jason Smith, Salem.

Sheila Solon, Blue Springs.

Chrissy Sommer, St. Charles.

Rick Stream, Kirkwood.

Mike Thomson, Maryville.

Wayne Wallingford, Cape Girardeau.

Don Wells, Cabool.

Bill White, Joplin.

Billy Pat Wright, Dexter.

Anne Zerr, St. Charles.

Steven Tilley, Perryville.


Penny Hubbard, St. Louis.


Jay Barnes, Jefferson City.

Mike Bernskoetter, Jefferson City.

T.J. Berry, Kearney.

Mike Cierpiot, Lee's Summit.

Barney Fisher, Richards.

Dave Hinson, St. Clair.

Mike Kelley, Lamar.

Brent Lasater, Independence.

Donna Lichtenegger, Jackson.

Nick Marshall, Parkville.

Myron Neth, Liberty.

Darrell Pollock, Lebanon.

Todd Richardson, Poplar Bluff.

Lyle Rowland, Cedar Creek.

Ron Schieber, Kansas City.

Ryan Silvey, Kansas City.

Noel Torpey, Independence.

Ray Weter, Nixa.

Paul Wieland, Imperial.

Zachary Wyatt, Green Castle.


Ira Anders, Independence.

Bert Atkins, Florissant.

Joe Aull, Marshall.

Linda Black, Bonne Terre.

Susan Carlson, St. Louis.

Chris Carter, St. Louis.

Ron Casey, Crystal City.

Pat Conway, St. Joseph.

Rory Ellinger, St. Louis.

Brandon Ellington, Kansas City.

Joe Fallert, Ste. Genevieve.

Ben Harris, Hillsboro.

Steve Hodges, East Prairie.

Jason Holsman, Kansas City.

Jacob Hummel, St. Louis.

Tishaura Jones, St. Louis.

Jason Kander, Kansas City.

Chris Kelly, Columbia.

Jeanne Kirkton, St. Louis.

Michele Kratky, St. Louis.

Sara Lampe, Sringfield.

Karla May, St. Louis.

Gail McCann Beatty, Kansas City.

Tom McDonald, Independence.

Eileen McGeoghegan, St. Ann.

Kevin McManus, Kansas City.

Margo McNeil, Florissant.

Tim Meadows, Imperial.

Genise Montecillo, St. Louis.

Judy Morgan, Kansas City.

Stacey Newman, St. Louis.

Mary Nichols, Maryland Heights.

Jeanette Mott Oxford, St. Louis.

Sharon Pace, St. Louis.

Tommie Pierson, St. Louis.

Paul Quinn, Monroe City.

John Rizzo, Kansas City.

Ed Schieffer, Troy.

Jill Schupp, St. Louis.

Tom Shively, Shelbyville.

Scott Sifton, St. Louis.

Clem Smith, St. Louis.

Churie Spreng, Florissant.

Mary Still, Columbia.

Jay Swearingen, North Kansas City.

Terry Swinger, Caruthersville.

Mike Talboy, Kansas City.

Sylvester Taylor, Florissant.

Steve Webb, Florissant.

Stephen Webber, Columbia.


Tracy McCreery, St. Louis.


Bart Korman, New Florence.

Jerry Nolte, Gladstone.

David Sater, Cassville.


Michael Brown, Kansas City.

Mike Colona, St. Louis.

Leonard Hughes IV, Kansas City.

Jamilah Nasheed, St. Louis.

Rochelle Walton Gray, Florissant.