Jefferson City, MO 81° View Live Radar Mon H 84° L 70° Tue H 90° L 72° Wed H 93° L 75° Weather Sponsored By:

County, 5 towns agree on warning sirens

County, 5 towns agree on warning sirens

July 17th, 2012 in News

The Cole County Commission on Monday approved agreements with five communities in the county for new warning sirens.

The communities signing agreements and the number of sirens are: St. Thomas, one siren; Russellville, one siren; Taos, two sirens; St. Martins, one siren; and Wardsville, two sirens.

The county will determine the exact location of the sirens.

Along with the seven sirens that will be located in the communities, the commission is looking to add seven more sirens in unincorporated areas. Those areas are: Westview Heights, Scott Station Road, Rainbow Drive, Renns Lake, Monticello Road, Heritage Highway, South County Club and Eugene.

There's no timeline yet for how soon the sirens will be running.

Jefferson City approved a $299,928 contract in March with Meyer Electric Co. to purchase and install 12 new sirens. Part of the contract included offering the same price, $25,000 per siren, to the county.