Jefferson City, MO 32° View Live Radar Wed H 38° L 18° Thu H 29° L 14° Fri H 33° L 20° Weather Sponsored By:

Fairstein delivers the goods with 'Night Watch'

Fairstein delivers the goods with 'Night Watch'

"Night Watch" (Dutton), by Linda Fairstein

July 12th, 2012 by JEFF AYERS, For The Associated Press in News

Linda Fairstein, author of thrillers including "Silent Mercy" and "Hell Gate," rips a headline from the front page and delivers another compelling story with her latest book, "Night Watch."

Manhattan prosecutor Alexandra Cooper is in love with a French chef named Luc, who becomes a suspect when a calling card from his restaurant is found on a body floating in a pond. While on vacation in France, Alexandra receives a phone call from her superiors telling her to come home immediately and tackle a case involving the head of the World Economic Bureau, who is accused of attacking a maid in a New York City hotel room.

She ends up torn between the high-profile case of sexual assault and her boyfriend's legal woes. Luc arrives in New York and soon after, another dead body appears with one of his calling cards.

Fairstein, a former prosecutor in the Manhattan district attorney's office, knows her stuff. Her insider knowledge brings a realistic feel to the proceedings. This time she fictionalizes the Dominique Strauss-Kahn case.

Fans of "Law and Order: Special Victims Unit" will enjoy the behind-the-scenes perspective of "Night Watch." Fairstein's novels typically include exotic histories of New York City, but this time, the character conflict drives the narrative, making for a more introspective reading experience.


Online:

http://www.lindafairstein.com/