Jefferson City, MO 89° View Live Radar Mon H 95° L 75° Tue H 92° L 71° Wed H 89° L 70° Weather Sponsored By:

New districts leave some with new representation

New districts leave some with new representation

February 26th, 2012 in News

Next January, Callaway County likely will move into a new Missouri Senate district - just as, 10 years ago, it was moved from the 16th District to become the most northern and eastern part of the 6th District along with Cole, Moniteau, Cooper, Morgan and Miller counties.

Or 20 years ago, when Callaway County was moved from the Columbia-based 19th District into the 16th, as the northern-most part of an 8-county district that stretched south through Rolla to Texas County.

Under the newest redistricting proposal, Callaway County would become the most southern and western part of a six-county district that also includes Audrain, Monroe, Montgomery, Warren and Lincoln counties.

That plan was offered last week by a 10-member residents' commission nominated by the state's Republican and Democratic parties, then appointed by Gov. Jay Nixon.

They must hold public hearings and take public comments before they can submit a final map.