Jefferson City, MO 74° View Live Radar Mon H 80° L 62° Tue H 80° L 66° Wed H 82° L 65° Weather Sponsored By:

Panel sets holiday schedule for Cole County offices

Panel sets holiday schedule for Cole County offices

November 8th, 2018 in Local News

The Cole County Commission has set the holiday schedule for county offices for 2019.

At its regular meeting Tuesday, commissioners approved the following holiday schedule:

  • New Year's: Tuesday, Jan. 1
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, Jan. 21
  • Washington's Birthday: Monday, Feb. 18
  • Memorial Day: Monday, May 27
  • Fourth of July: Thursday, July 4
  • Labor Day: Monday, Sept. 2
  • Columbus Day: Monday, Oct. 14
  • Veterans Day: Monday, Nov. 11
  • Thanksgiving and the day after: Thursday, Nov. 28, and Friday, Nov. 29
  • Christmas: Wednesday, Dec. 25.

For the current Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve schedules, commissioners have asked the office heads to keep a skeleton staff on both days so offices can remain open through 4:30 p.m. each day.

They expressed a hope that the county clerk, recorder of deeds and collector's offices are open for those wanting to file last-minute paperwork for things such as property taxes, marriage licenses and business/liquor licenses.

If an office is headed by an elected official, he or she has the authority to say when the office is open and closed; the commissioners do not.