Jefferson City Landmarks
Only two owners have lived in the Classic English Tudor-style home at 1005 Adams Street.
Over coffee and poached eggs on English muffins, Bill Plassmeyer visits with his friends, whom he has been meeting at The Towne Grill for decades.
When the Sisters of St. Mary came with the charge of establishing a hospital in Jefferson City, they brought with them the legacy of grace and affection of caring for the poor and sick.
More than 100 years old, Villa Panorama went through a number of incarnations before Michael and Carolyn Mills revived its elegance
One mansion overlooking the city has been a German immigrant’s symbol of prominence, a rectory, an emergency hospital, a bed and breakfast, a restaurant and a beloved home for entertaining.
Its iconic steeple is captured in almost every painting or photo taken of the Capitolscape.
The blue clapboard and limestone home at 105 Jackson St. has felt the blood of wounded soldiers — Confederate and Union — drip on its floors when it was used as a hospital. The home has heard the cries of mothers and wives who lost loved ones in the War Between the States — or their bold refutes to those reports. And the home has seen a wedding of a president’s kin in the city named after him. If only the home — one of the oldest remaining in town — could relate the tales of a loyal, well-thought-of pioneer family from Jefferson City’s early history.
The opulent interior and distinguished exterior were a testament to the pride Jefferson City felt when Andrew Carnegie agreed in 1900 to financially support the building of a permanent free, public library.
History and tradition have been a mainstay at 224 W. Elm St. and for the Schroeder family, because of adaptability and modifications to keep up with the times.
Hidden behind mature shade trees, the unique architecture of 210 Lafayette St. might go unnoticed to the hurried commuter or occasional visitor.
This two-story brick building serves up a legacy of food from its cornfield beginnings as Buerhle’s Grocery through decades as Bob’s Market to its current incarnation as Angelina’s Cafe
Neighborly talk and homespun wisdom poured over the meat counter at Bob’s Market in the mid-1970s when Marvin Jones moved into a 600 block Boonville Road home with his family from Georgia.
Before rehabilitating Capitol Avenue really took hold, Jim and Betty Weber took advantage of their 20-something energy and bought 611 E. Capitol Ave. as a fixer-upper.
The Methodist presence has long stood on Capitol Avenue.