Mid-Missouri flood victims eligible for low-interest loans

People in 12 Missouri counties — including Miller, Maries and Camden counties in Mid-Missouri — whose Missouri homes and businesses were damaged by floods and strong storms in August now can qualify for federal low-interest loans.

The aid is for damage that occurred from Aug. 2-14.

The U.S. Small Business Administration on Tuesday approved disaster aid for the counties in central and southern Missouri, which also include Pulaski and Taney counties as well as Christian, Douglas, Laclede, Ozark, Phelps, Stone and Texas.

Homeowners can get loans of up to $200,000 for their real estate, and owners and renters can get loans of up to $40,000 to repair or replace damaged personal property.

Businesses and nonprofit groups can get loans of up to $2 million.

President Barack Obama previously approved federal aid for public entities in 18 Missouri counties but denied a disaster declaration for individual assistance.

A news release from Gov. Jay Nixon’s office said SBA representatives will be on hand at Disaster Loan Outreach Centers in Pulaski and Taney counties to issue loan applications, answer questions and explain the

application process, beginning Thursday and continuing through Oct. 24.

The location serving Mid-Missouri is at the Pulaski County Emergency Management office in the old Waynesville Middle School, 403 School St., Suite 214.

The office will be open Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.– 6 p.m.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments