Lincoln announces Hall of Fame inductees

Lincoln University will welcome nine new members into its athletic Hall of Fame, the school announced Monday.

The honorees will be inducted during a ceremony Thursday, Oct. 3. They will also be recognized during the Homecoming football game Oct. 5.

“This is another stellar class of inductees,” Lincoln athletic director Betty Kemna said. “We’re recognizing two outstanding football programs and eight individuals who are among the top student-athletes in the history of Lincoln University. Each of these inductees have contributed to the legacy of the university, and each has proven worthy, both in their collegiate and professional lives, of being called a Blue Tiger. We are proud to welcome these nine inductees into the Lincoln Athletic Hall of Fame.”

The honorees include track standout James Amerison (1971-73), football players Gerald Brown (1951-54), Boyce Smith (1963-66), James Sullivan (1964-67) and Wallace Davis (1962-65); basketball players Arvesta Kelly (1963-67) and James Long Jr. (1952-55); baseball and basketball player Ted Savage (1954-58) and the 1952 and 1953 football teams.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments