Mo. governor seeks federal disaster declaration

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — Gov. Jay Nixon is requesting federal assistance for 18 Missouri counties hit by last week’s violent storms.

Nixon said Wednesday he has requested a federal major disaster declaration for parts of southern and northern Missouri struck by tornadoes, hail and high winds on Feb. 28 and 29. The violent weather was blamed for three deaths, dozens of injuries and widespread property damage.

Counties covered by Nixon’s request are Adair, Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Cedar, Dallas, Daviess, Laclede, Linn, Madison, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Scott, Stoddard, Stone and Taney.

The disaster declaration could allow the federal government to help people rebuild damaged homes and help counties pay the costs of emergency response to the storms.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments