Walker honored

KANSAS CITY — Lincoln University’s Arriana Walker was one of five players named to the all-tournament team after the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association crowned its champion Sunday.

Washburn, which captured the title with a 68-59 victory over Emporia State, had three of the five all-tournament players — Most Outstanding Player Ebonie Williams, Cassie Lombardino and Stevi Schultz.

Emporia State’s Kelsey Balcom was the other player selected to the squad.

Walker led the Blue Tigers to their first postseason win ever when she dropped in 39 points in an 83-77 win over Pittsburg State in the first round of the tournament. The output is an all-time record for the women’s tournament.

Walker chipped in with two points, seven rebounds, four assists and two steals when the Blue Tigers were eliminated in the semifinals by Pittsburg State.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments