Parrish, Corbett lead LU Hall of Fame class

The sports of football and men’s basketball dominated the scene as Lincoln University announced the newest class of inductees for the school’s Athletic Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Headlining the class is Lemar Parrish, an eight-time NFL Pro Bowl selection as a defensive back.

The 2012 class will be inducted in a ceremony in the ballroom of Scruggs Hall on Lincoln’s campus at 6 p.m. on Oct. 12. The honorees will also be recognized during the Homecoming game at 2 p.m. Oct. 13 against Nebraska-Kearney.

Another famous face joining the Hall of Fame is former Lincoln men’s basketball coach Don Corbett. Corbett led the Blue Tigers from 1971-79, becoming the all-time winningest coach in Lincoln basketball history.

The lone team joining the Hall this time is the 1966-67 men’s basketball team, which can make a claim as the best one in Lincoln’s history.

Rounding out the honorees are five Lincoln football players, Bruce Johnson, Willie Burkes, Johnny McDaniel, George Buckner and Jim Tolbert.

Read additional details in our newspaper or e-Edition. Newspaper subscribers: Click on an e-Edition article and log in using your current account information at no extra charge. For e-edition help, e-mail Click here to purchase the full version of archived articles.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments