County, 5 towns agree on warning sirens

The Cole County Commission on Monday approved agreements with five communities in the county for new warning sirens.

Read additional details in our newspaper or e-Edition. Newspaper subscribers: Click on an e-Edition article and log in using your current account information at no extra charge. For e-edition help, e-mail Click here to purchase the full version of archived articles.

The communities signing agreements and the number of sirens are: St. Thomas, one siren; Russellville, one siren; Taos, two sirens; St. Martins, one siren; and Wardsville, two sirens.

The county will determine the exact location of the sirens.

Along with the seven sirens that will be located in the communities, the commission is looking to add seven more sirens in unincorporated areas. Those areas are: Westview Heights, Scott Station Road, Rainbow Drive, Renns Lake, Monticello Road, Heritage Highway, South County Club and Eugene.

There’s no timeline yet for how soon the sirens will be running.

Jefferson City approved a $299,928 contract in March with Meyer Electric Co. to purchase and install 12 new sirens. Part of the contract included offering the same price, $25,000 per siren, to the county.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments