Ferguson passes nondiscrimination law

FERGUSON, Mo. (AP) — Ferguson has become the sixth town in St. Louis County to pass a law prohibiting discrimination based on sexual preference.

The Ferguson City Council unanimously approved the nondiscrimination protections Tuesday. Councilman Dwayne James says residents need to know that the city is welcoming to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people.

Other St. Louis County towns that have passed similar laws include University City, Olivette, Clayton, Richmond Heights and Creve Couer. St. Louis city, Kansas City, Columbia and Jackson County have also passed nondiscrimination measures.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments