Mo. House Republicans choose leader for 2013

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — Missouri House Republicans have chosen their leader for the 2013 session.

Current House Speaker Steven Tilley is barred by term limits from seeking re-election next year, so his job as leader of the chamber’s Republicans will be open in 2013.

Republicans said Friday they selected Majority Leader Tim Jones, of Eureka, as their nominee for House speaker. Jones is halfway through his third term.

The Republicans currently hold a healthy majority in the House. If they retain control of the chamber after next year’s election, Jones would likely become Missouri’s next House speaker.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments