Missouri assessing flood damage along rivers

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — Government officials will be conducting assessments in 27 Missouri counties to calculate flood damage to farms, homes and crops.

The assessment by the federal Farm Service Agency covers areas affected by flooding that has occurred since May. Twenty-five of the counties are along the Missouri River. Clark and Lewis counties in northeast Missouri also are included because of flash floods.

The damage assessments are the first step in determining whether disaster declarations can be sought. That designation would allow farmers to receive emergency loans or other assistance from the federal government.

The counties along the Missouri River are: Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Callaway, Carroll, Chariton, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Franklin, Gasconade, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Lafayette, Moniteau, Montgomery, Osage, Platte, Ray, Saline, St. Charles, St. Louis and Warren.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments