Missouri Sports Hall of Fame announces 2012 class

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (AP) — Former St. Louis Cardinals outfielder Jim Edmonds and Missouri Tiger sharpshooter Jon Sundvold head the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame’s class of 2012.

Thirteen other Show-Me State sports icons will be inducted at a Jan. 29 ceremony at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in Springfield. They include former Kansas City Chiefs cornerback Emmitt Thomas and Missouri football coach Al Onofrio.

Edmonds was a three-time All-Star and won a Gold Glove in each of his eight seasons with the Cardinals. Sundvold led Missouri to four straight Big Eight Conference titles before playing for three NBA teams.

Also going in is Jefferson City’s Clyde Lear, the retired chairman and CEO of Learfield Communications whose Learfield Sports is a leader in collegiate sports marketing.

Other inductees include former Kansas City Royals catcher Jamie Quirk; receiver Mel Gray of Missouri and the NFL St. Louis Cardinals; Southwest Missouri State University basketball player Gene Ruble; and Richard Hantak, an NFL offical from St. Louis.

Also going into the Hall are Mickey Owen, a catcher for the St. Louis Cardinals and Brooklyn Dodgers; Dr. Richard Lehman, a one-time team physician for the St. Louis Blues; chess player Rex Sinquefield; Lawrence Walls, a football coach for Sumner High School during the 1960s, ’70s and ’80s; St. Louis amateur golfer Ellen Port; the Columbia College volleyball program and the New Haven boys basketball program.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments