Mo. farmers eligible for aid from August storms

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — Farmers in 24 counties of northwest and west-central Missouri counties hit by powerful storms during a five-day span in August may be able to get help from the government.

Gov. Jay Nixon’s office says the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated seven counties as primary disaster areas, with crop losses of at least 30 percent. The declaration makes farmers in those and 17 bordering counties who suffered losses eligible for emergency loans and assistance.

Counties designated as primary disaster areas are Andrew, Atchison, Gentry, Lafayette, Nodaway, Pettis and Platte.

The declaration covers a five-day stretch of hail, high winds and severe storms that began Aug. 18. The storms forced cancellation of some events at the Missouri State Fair, knocking out power and causing scattered damage at the fairgrounds in Sedalia.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

News Tribune - comments